Disable The App Store Upgrade Notification Centre Message 0

Trick

Share
Disable The App Store Upgrade Notification Centre Message

Hey,

Notification Centre is a great way to receive messages and be notified of various different aspects on your Mac. I have previously written about stopping notification centre messages, however this was related to applications. Today’s post is going to describe how to stop the notification centre pop up message for the App Store. This is usually due to an application needing to be updated. Although you should update your apps frequently to ensure there are no bugs, the message can get annoying.

Disabling App Store Notification

To disable the notification centre we need to edit the app’s setting. Tips like this are normally done with Terminal to edit a preference setting, for this tip we are going to use a slightly different method.

Open your Applications folder and navigate to the App Store application. Right click on the application and select ‘Show Package Contents’. This will open up a folder which contain various files crucial to the operation of the app. Select the contents folder.

Within this folder you will see an application named ‘Info.plist’. Copy this to the desktop or another folder. Open this file in Text Edit. If you want a handy way of performing this action see my previous post on adding a right click Finder option to open files in TextEdit.

There are various options within this file. Scroll down to the option which states.

<key>NSUserNotificationAlertStyle</key>
<string>alert</string>

Change ‘alert’ to ‘none’.

The simple change, shown in TextMate, controls the display of the notification centre message.

The simple change, shown in TextMate, controls the display of the notification centre message.

Save the file and copy it back to the location in which you found it. You will have to authenticate with your admin password to make the change since you are altering a protected system file.

You may need to restart the App Store application, or your Mac.

Just like that the messages will disappear. A simple change can get rid of an annoying message. If you ever want to change it back, change ‘none’ back to ‘alert’. Credit for this idea is found on imgur.


If you want to keep up with the latests post from Mac Tricks And Tips I recommend you subscribe to the RSS Feed.

Where To Next?

  • Subscribe To Mac Tricks And Tips